WTC Fire Safety Directors Memorial Award

WTC Fire SAfety Directors Award

WTC Fire Safety Director Memorial Award

In 2011, the 10th Anniversary year of the World Trade Center (WTC) attack, the Association re-dedicated the Fire Safety Directors Award as the WTC Fire Safety Director Memorial Award.  This Award is dedicated to the six Fire Safety Directors who made the supreme sacrifice and died in the line of duty on September 11, 2001 by assisting the Fire Department in evacuating the Twin Tower Buildings and surrounding area.  The Award is presented to a person who over the years has embodied the ideals of life safety both in the public and private fire protection fields and as an appreciation for his/her significant contribution to the cause of high-rise building fire prevention.


FDNY Chief of Department Thomas Richardson, Chairman Jack Murphy, Nick Gaudiosi- Head of Fire & Life Safety, Morgan Stanley (FDNY Captain Ladder 7, retired), Fire Commissioner Daniel Nigro


Year Name Organization
2021 Nick Gaudiosi Head of Fire & Life Safety, Morgan Stanley
2019 Louis Cendagorta Chief Inspector- Bur. of Fire Prevention
2018 NFPA National Fire Protection Association
2017 Fitzroy Benjamin Chief Inspector, Hi- Rise Unit, FDNY
2016 Michael Hurley Fire Safety Director WTC 9/11/2001
 2015  Lee Ielpi 9/11 Tribute Center, Board President, FDNY Firefighter (retired)
 2014  Victoria Pitcavage John Jay College/Fire Science Institute
2013 Michael J. Regan JPMorgan Chase-Managing Director, Global Security& Investigations at
2012 Frank Lindsay FDNY- Chief Inspector of Public Safety Inspection
2011 Gary Lewis Past Chair ICC Ad-Hoc Committee on Terrorism-Resistant Buildings
2008 Glenn Corbett John Jay College, Protection Management Dept.
2007 Patricia J. Lancaster Department of Buildings,City of New York, Commissioner
2005 John J. “Jack” Murphy JJM & Associates, LLC
2003 Joseph C. Razza Rolf Jensen Associates, Inc.
2002 Graham Raymond Newsday Reporter
2001 Michael J. Nelson Rolf Jensen Associates, Inc.
1999 Jerome M. Hauer Mayor’s Office of Emer. Management City of New York, Commissioner
1998 Elmer “Bud” Chapman FDNY – Deputy Assistant Chief (Ret.)
1997 Bernard “Tom” Lally FDNY – Technical Mgment, Deputy Chief
1996 William Manning Fire Engineering Magazine, Editor
1995 Penny Crone WFOX Channel 5
1994 C.W. “Sandy” Sansevero Rockefeller Group
1993 Richard Brown Borough of Queens, District Attorney
1992 Michael P. Laffy Prudential Realty Group
1991 Hon. Curtis Weldon United States Congressional Fire Caucus
1990 G. Tom Shires, MD New York Hospital/Cornell Burn Center
1989 Richard J. Abbott John Jay College/Fire Science Institute
1988 Dr. Frank Fields WCBS – Channel 2
1987 Robert Coughlin Citibank
1986 Morti Hirsch Active Fire Protection Corporation