Edward W. Whalen Memorial Award

Whalen Award

Edward W. Whalen Award

The Award is presented to a member of the Fire Department of the City of New York (active or retired) who has furthered the goals of fire prevention, safety and education in the field of fire protection. The award is named after Edward W. Whalen, FDNY Battalion Chief (Ret.)who was a loyal supporter and advisor to the Association. He played a key role in the Associations’ current success. The winner of the award exemplifies by his/her actions and deeds the dedication and professionalism displayed by Ed to the members of the fire service and the citizens of New York City.


FDNY Chief of Department Thomas Richardson accepting the award on behalf of Deputy Assistant Chief, FDNY- John Norman


2021 John Norman Dep Asst Chief, FDNY
2019  Thomas Lapolla Batt. Chief, FDNY, Bn. 8
2018 Thomas J. Pigott Chief of Technology Mgmt.
2017 Ronald Spatafora Chief of Fire Prevention
2016 Jay Jonas Deputy Chief, FDNY, Div 7
 2015 Gerald Tracy Battalion Chief, 49 Bn. (Ret.)
 2014  Edward Kilduff  Chief of Department
2013 Joseph W. Pfeifer Assistant Chief, Center for Terrorism and Disaster Preparedness
2012 James Hodgens Deputy Chief, 1st Division
2011 Thomas Jensen Chief of Fire Prevention
2008 Salvatore Cassano Chief of Department
2007 Patrick Savage Deputy Chief, Fire Prevention
2005 Peter Hayden Chief of Department
2003 Stanley Dawe Chief of Fire Prevention
2001 Lawrence M. Byrnes Battalion Chief, Bn. 1 (Ret.)
2000 C.W. “Sandy” Sansevero Lieut. , Ladder 4 (Ret.)
1999 Gerald Barbara Chief of Fire Prevention
1998 Sid Ifshin Deputy Chief (Ret.)
1997 Edward Cunningham Chief of Fire Prevention
1996 Michael F. Laffey Captain (Ret.)
1995 Vincent Dunn Deputy Chief, Division 3
1994 William Feehan 1st Deputy Fire Commissioner
1993 Eugene Docktor Assistant Chief
1992 John Hodgens Chief of Fire Prevention
1991 John J. Toohey Chief of Fire Prevention
1990 Frank Nastro Assistant Chief
1989 Lewis Harris Assistant Chief
1988 Bernard “Tom” Lally Deputy Chief
1987 Matthew Farrell Assistant Chief
1986 John J. O’Rourke Chief of Department
1985 Edward W. Whalen Battalion Chief (Ret.)